{"entity":{"id":"tmunity-therapeutics","kind":"company","name":"Tmunity Therapeutics","aka":[],"tldr":"Tmunity was a Philadelphia company spun out of University of Pennsylvania research that built CAR T-cell therapies with extra features to help them fight solid tumours. Gilead's cell therapy unit Kite bought it in early 2023.","summary":"Tmunity Therapeutics was a private, clinical-stage cell therapy company based in Philadelphia. According to Gilead's first-quarter 2023 report, Kite completed the acquisition of Tmunity in that quarter, gaining preclinical and clinical programmes including an investigational armoured CAR T technology platform intended to be applied across CAR T products to enhance anti-tumour activity, together with rapid manufacturing processes. SEC Form D filings show Tmunity was incorporated in 2015 and sold about $75 million of equity in an offering that began in October 2019 (earlier Form D filings were made in 2018). The Gilead filing attributes most of a $481 million acquired in-process R&D charge in Q1 2023 to the Tmunity acquisition, alongside payments to Arcellx and Nurix. The company website no longer resolves.","asOf":"2026-09-10","links":[{"label":"Official website","url":"https://www.sec.gov/edgar/browse/?CIK=0001661702"},{"label":"Gilead Q1 2023 results noting completed Tmunity acquisition (8-K)","url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/882095/000088209523000014/exhibit991earningspressrel.htm"},{"label":"Form D, October 2019","url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1661702/000166170219000001/primary_doc.xml"},{"label":"SEC EDGAR filings","url":"https://www.sec.gov/edgar/browse/?CIK=0001661702"}],"tags":[],"related":[],"cancers":[],"sections":["cell-therapy"],"technologies":["car-t","armored-car"],"targets":[],"drugs":[],"companies":[],"institutions":["parker-institute"],"pathways":[],"terms":[],"trials":[],"people":[],"bottlenecks":[],"keyPapers":[],"journals":[],"dependsOn":[],"notes":["Website tmunity.com is offline; the EDGAR company page is given instead. Acquisition price not disclosed in fetched sources. The 2019 Form D does not name the series; the user's hint of a 2021 acquisition is incorrect, Gilead reports completion in Q1 2023."],"hq":"Philadelphia, PA","country":"US","companyType":"cell-therapy","founded":2015,"stage":"acquired","investors":[],"funding":[{"round":"Form D offering","year":2019,"amountUsd":74999948,"source":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1661702/000166170219000001/primary_doc.xml","note":"Equity offering, first sale 22 October 2019"},{"round":"Acquisition","year":2023,"source":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/882095/000088209523000014/exhibit991earningspressrel.htm","note":"Completed in the first quarter of 2023; Gilead reported acquired IPR&D of $481 million for the quarter driven primarily by Tmunity plus Arcellx and Nurix payments, so the Tmunity price alone is not stated"}],"acquiredBy":"gilead"},"route":"/companies/tmunity-therapeutics/","neighbours":{"section":[{"id":"cell-therapy","kind":"section","name":"Cell Therapy","route":"/fronts/cell-therapy/"}],"technology":[{"id":"armored-car","kind":"technology","name":"Armoured, logic-gated & next-gen CARs","route":"/technologies/armored-car/"},{"id":"car-t","kind":"technology","name":"CAR-T cell therapy","route":"/technologies/car-t/"}],"institution":[{"id":"parker-institute","kind":"institution","name":"Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy","route":"/institutions/parker-institute/"}],"company":[{"id":"gilead","kind":"company","name":"Gilead Sciences (incl. Kite)","route":"/companies/gilead/"}]}}